The Rose Report: Why are there Fries in the Oven?

moldyfriesinoven.png

OK, so I am going to start a new weekly segment that will simply be called “Rose.” And anyone who has watched the Golden Girls will soon learn why that is the title.

So this story takes place about 4 years ago now, roughly a year after I have moved into my new condo (this is important). So, I decided to have a few former co-workers over one night for dinner and games. We ordered Pizza of course, but I think I made a veggie tray. So the night was going swimmingly, and we had just finished dinner, and a few games. One of my friends decided it was time for the “brief mind you” tour of my condo. So they looked at the bedroom, and the bathroom. I was sitting on the couch while they looked around. Next thing I knew, one of them was asking when I had had fries? I looked at them and told them, I haven’t ever made fries. She looked at me again and asked, “Then what are these fries in the oven from?” I came over to see what they were talking about, and sure enough there was a tray with a bunch of straggling little shriveled up fries on a tray in the oven. I looked at them and was like, “Well, I guess they must have been from the previous person living here.” They were all shocked and reminded me how long I had been living there. All that time, and I hadn’t once opened the oven? How did I eat? Did I not inspect the place? What? I just told them, “ I don’t cook, I had no reason to look in the oven did I?”

There is no telling, in the end, just how old those fries really were! Oops… oh well… Now I cook, (well mostly Dan does) and have a new oven, but I will never live down the fry incident! So I might as well let everyone get a good laugh out of it!

9 comments on “The Rose Report: Why are there Fries in the Oven?

  1. BTW, I think this ‘Rose’ idea is outstanding. I know you have a lot of them. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m about to entertain a male guest of mine. See y’all in a couple of hours.

  2. I love, love, love that story! I think the Monkeys got about 4 digs in at shows for the next year. Delicious.

    Who colored the fries green in the pic, btw?

  3. Pingback: The Rose Report: It’s Back! « qPlog: Brainmatter

  4. Oh Lordy! One of the first things we do is look inside ovens and fridges when moving into rented property. When we were looking to buy in London, before we found the right place, we viewed lots–and on one occasion I went to open a fridge door (the electricity was off) and the estate agent (you call ’em realtors?) screamed, in slo-mo, “NooooooooooooooO!”

    But it was too late. The door opened and the dead rose from their graves…

    The whole property stunk. We said no, we weren’t interested in buying as we had no intention of ever moving a fridge containing the liquid organic manure that one did. x

Leave a Reply

