Harsh Words for Amazon from FORTUNE

itvau.png
So last week both Amazon and Apple unveiled their movie download services. Apple’s iTunes Store has started with Disney Studios, Pixar, Miramax and Touchstone, which in it’s first week 125,000 movies were purchased at prices ranging from $9.99 – $14.99. That translated to a million dollars in revenue for Disney and it’s 3 other studios. Amazon, on the other hand, launched their Unbox service.

Here is what Fortune had to say about the two:

“Amazon.com’s Unbox is a horror show. The Unbox service appears not so much to have been introduced as to have escaped from the laboratory.

Of all the smart and talented people at Amazon, did no one dare say, “Wait, our new service bites! It’s slower than a trip to Blockbuster, more expensive than a DVD, absurdly restrictive on how the consumer uses the movie, delivers lower resolution than a DVD, and requires running a cable from the PC to the TV if you want to watch the movie on something larger than a PC monitor”?”

And for Apple:

“Apple’s iTunes media store, meanwhile, is the feel-good movie download service of the summer, and builds on the same style and ease of use that has made iTunes the world’s leading legal download service for music and television shows. But my local cineplex or cable TV service offers more movie choices than iTunes (which I’ll review in detail on Thursday) does at this point, and the missing link – getting the movie from the PC to the TV – is still missing. I think I’ll wait for the sequel.”

While not completely praising iTunes, it’s major beef was the lack of movies from the different studios. Given Disney’s success this past week with their movies, I don’t expect the other studios to hold out for long! Mind you Amazon’s only hold out right now is Disney, and from the article I can see why!

All of this helps to reassure me that my new arrival today is going to be supported for a long time to come! qVid has a new place in my heart as my new Black 80 gig 5g video iPod! I will admit that all the new features are fantastic, but the two biggest reasons for the upgrade were the larger hard drive and the lockout feature that allows me to keep my sensitive information private, since I do keep a lot of important info on there for my business! Although, I must say, the new games are SWEET!

2 comments on “Harsh Words for Amazon from FORTUNE

  1. I’ve had two, count ’em, TWO iPods in my life and the second was a gift from a group of friends. How many does qVid make for you?

    And, yes, I AM jealous.

  2. I’ve lost count. At least 7, but all the previous ones except my 5 gig and the mini have gone on to new homes. The mini is dead, and my original is in my drawer, I don’t think it works anymore though.

Leave a Reply

