It Worked!

img_2408.jpg
So since it’s close to my favorite time of year, I chose this album to experiment with. Michael Jackson’s Thriller, one of the first albums I got as a kid, on Vinyl. Well, until now, I have had to put on the record to hear that classic album. I just didn’t ever buy it on CD.

Well, one of my co-workers has a son who wanted to convert his dad’s records to digital files for his iPod. I was over helping him try to install Tiger on his iMac, and we were trying to figure it out. It turns out I was on the right track, just didn’t have all the right equipment on hand.

So tonight, I decided to give it a try. Here is what I learned and what you will need for this to work.

1. Turntable
2. Amp
3. Quicktime Pro
4. A Mac with an audio in.
5. Patch cord with left and right RCA on one end and 3.5-mm stereo headphone minijack on the other end.

So here is how I did it. I had the turntable plugged into the amp, then I took a patch cord from the Tape Monitor out that had a 3.5-mm stereo headphone minijack on the other end to go into the audio in port on the Mac. From there I opened Quicktime, and went under file to new audio recording. I set the preferences to use the audio port as the source, and hit record, then I put the needle on the record and let it go. What you hear above is the result. Not bad if you ask me. 🙂

Here is the result:

3 comments on “It Worked!

  1. I’ve got a set of hi-fi components which include alongside the usual – amp, speakers, tape deck, turntable et al – a Pioneer CD player which also burns, so it’s actually really simple and quick to just slap a record on, burn a CD from it. There’s a number of settings you can use, including one that reduces noise and scratches. You can also adjust input levels and all manner of geekery. What is exceptionally fab is that I can burn CDs from audio cassettes, too, before they crumble to dust! x

Leave a Reply

