Elitch’s Sold! and NOT for Redevelopment!

20060806_093427_bz07_elitch1_300.jpg

So in what I hope is good news for Elitch Gardens, it was officially announced today that the park (along with six other Six Flags properties) has been sold! I do hope that getting out from under Six Flags management can help to turn this place around!

PARC 7F-Operations Corp in Jacksonville, FL is set to buy the parks pending approval from both theirs and Six Flags boards. For $312 million, they are going to receive 7 of the Six Flags properties which includes: Six Flags Darien Lake in Buffalo, New York; Six Flags Elitch Gardens in Denver; Frontier City and the White Water Bay water park in Oklahoma City; SplashTown in Houston; Waterworld USA in Concord, California; and Wild Waves and Enchanted Village in Seattle.

The thing that I find interesting is that PARC is headed by Michael Jenkins, a former vice president of Six Flags over Texas. So being in the amusement park industry in the past gives me hope. PARC is then set to sell to CNL Income Properties, and then they will lease them from CNL. That sounds a little complex to me, but if it works, hey that’s fine. The sale should be final in March.

As long as the Elitch Garden’s name is kept, this will be good news for Denver. Eltich’s is a major contributor to tourism in this state, and it would have been a sad day to have lost them. It would have been difficult for me, as it has been a part of my life since a little kid when I first went to kiddieland, as well as one of my employers for the last 14 years.

5 comments on “Elitch’s Sold! and NOT for Redevelopment!

  1. I remember visiting Elitch’s when I was just about 7 years old (mid-1970’s) when we took a family vacation to Denver. I remember a sign that said “Not to see Elitch’s is not to see Denver.” Being as young as I was, I didn’t understand the sign.

    From what I heard, they moved Elitch’s from the location I remember. Is that true?

  2. Howard: I am very hopeful! Three showings gives me a lot of promise!

    Scott: Yeah, Elitch’s moved to downtown Denver in the old railyard off I-25 in 1995. I have fond memories of the old Elitch’s that you know of as well!

  3. So did they just build an entirely new amusement park from scratch when they moved, or did they take over an existing one? Also, where was the old Elitch’s? I always thought it was downtown, but remember I was only about 7 years old when I visited it.

  4. The old Elitch’s was at 38th & Tennyson. It was very close to downtown. It’s only maybe a mile and a half from the new location. They did move some of the old rides from the original park, but most of it was built brand new at the new location. It doesn’t have the charm of the original park unfortunately… But they have added some pretty decent rides that would not have been possible at the original park.

Leave a Reply

