The Vagi… Uh, I Mean, the HooHaa Monologues

hoohaa.jpg
I have said it before, and I am here to say it again… We are too sensitive a society anymore! With three commercials from the Super B… (uh wait, don’t want to get slapped with a fine) The BIG Game a few weeks ago being pulled for offending… It comes as little surprise that Florida is undergoing another big stink over a title.

A theater in Atlantic Beach, Florida gave into complaints from people over the title of their current play “The Vagina Monologues,” changing the name to the “Less Offensive” childlike name of “The HooHaa Monologues.” From the article:

They did this after a driver who saw it complained to the theater, saying she was upset that her niece saw it. “I’m on the phone and asked ‘What did you tell her?’ She’s like, ‘I’m offended I had to answer the question,'” Pfanenstiel said.”

What does this woman do when she drives by a strip club that says in big bold letters “NUDE FEMALE DANCERS?” How is she going to explain that to her child? Is she going to expect that club to change the sign on their marquee to say something like: “Women doing, well you know what guys!”? For that matter, what does she do when commercials come on TV for the Vaginal yeast infection? I know the subject isn’t going to be easy to approach with a little one… but, the fact is they are going to find out about these things wether you are with them or not. Better they get the facts from someone they know and trust, then someone else. And, being her niece, if she was really uncomfortable, she could have just told her to let her parents answer that one.

America really needs to give up it’s prudishness on this kind of thing. The vagina, like the penis, in and of itself is not vulgar, and if you are afraid to talk about it, it becomes vulgar. It is a natural part of the body, and a child is entitled to know what it is. You can explain to a child what the sexual organs are without having to tell them all the sordid details about it.

There was as much an outcry over changing the name, as there was over the name being there. Ultimately, thankfully, the artist complained about the name change, and the theater has since changed the title back to the original name. Of course the only reason they did so, is that the lawyers stepped in, and in order to be able to put on the production, it is under the condition there be no censorship involved whatsoever. So it was either cancel the production or change the name back.

No matter what you do, someone is always going to be offended. She better hope that “Puppetry of the Penis” doesn’t make it’s way to Atlantic Beach! πŸ˜‰

8 comments on “The Vagi… Uh, I Mean, the HooHaa Monologues

  1. Those are clinical terms. How in the world are they offensive. In fact, who the hell decided which words are offensive and which aren’t. It’s stupid. They are just words.

    Perhaps we should write a play about the woman who called in and title it: “Cunt On A Phone”

  2. Did I miss something? Am I living under a freakin rock? Why can’t we say super bowl?? Howard is very funny, yes he is.
    So… how ridiculous is that. We had a similar thing in out town last winter when a homeowner put their light up deers on their lawn in compromising positions… very funny and after the complaint… before they were asked to take it down.. my newspaper I work at took the photo and then posted it the next day in an article. I love my paper! πŸ˜‰

  3. Well, the Super Bowl comment was because, I had heard about them cracking down on people referring to parties as Super Bowl Parties… Bars were fined and the such. It may have just been hearsay, who knows.

    Yes, Howard is a master of funny! I guess that would be why he heads up an Improv Troupe! Monkey’s Uncle.

    I would love to see that picture if you still have a copy! That would make me laugh some more! πŸ™‚

  4. I still don’t get it *the super bowl thing* how is it a problem for bars to hold so called “super bowl” parties? It’s going right over my head.

    I will check into the archives of my newspaper, I did save a copy but can’t find it… maybe someone at work has it saved and I can scan it in next week when we aren’t so busy. πŸ™‚

    Too bad his Troupe is over by you… they travel all the way to CT by any chance? I love Improv!

  5. Thanks Lorne! πŸ™‚

    Amber: I don’t get the whole Super Bowl thing either… I just had hear about it on the radio. It might have been a load of hog-wash!

    That would be great, it’s not that important if you don’t find it.

    I guess, you will just have to make a trip out to Colorado someday to see them. πŸ™‚

  6. Yeah when I come next year to go snowboarding!
    Hey, what happened? You trying out the new blog skin? I miss your header, you will be changing the default right? I do like the layout of the new blog skin though… the date design is very cool.

Leave a Reply

