On The Road To Nashville

roadtonash.jpg
Out yesterday here in the States, Erasure’s latest DVD/CD is now in my collection. The audio portion is also available on the iTunes Music Store.

Since I was uncapable of waiting till the record stores opened, and since I had recently received a very nice early early B-day present for iTunes, I went ahead and bought it off iTunes so I could listen to it on the way into work. It is apparent listening to Andy speak in between songs, that he is in awe of playing at the Ryman Auditorium (The Grand Ole Opery as it used to be known).

I then proceded to stop by Twist & Shout on the way home to pick up the DVD/CD with the video of the concert. I wasn’t able to watch the concert yet, but watched some of the making of documentary on the DVD. And was fascinated by the influences behind the acoustic album. There were many older influences like Simon and Garfunkel, which I expected, but what was unexpected was the mention of current artists, the likes of Aimee Mann and Rufus Wainwright as influences as well! Both, artists that are quite regularly in my music rotation.

It is definitely a treat listening to this rare interpretation of their Electronic classics. But, at the same time, I look forward to the return of their Electronic roots on the new album in May!

One comment on “On The Road To Nashville

Leave a Reply

