Welcome to qPlog DS9

Today I am officially announcing the new qplog.net! I have spent the past few weeks learning a lot about how a self hosted blog is different. It has presented new challenges that I have had to overcome. But it has been a great learning experience! Learning the innerworkings of code is indeed a challenge, and much of it was just testing till I got it to work, but I have refined where I was going with qplog @ wordpress, and added new features not possible on the WP.com side.

I love the ease of use of wordpress.com hosted sites, but yearned for more flexibility with the design and layout of my blog. Take a look around and see what is new. While the look is familiar, I have tweaked things like my sidebar to include new features. Most notably is the new afterthoughts section. This is where I will be posting stuff that doesn’t quite cut it for a full fledged post. Also new, is the ability to translate the site into different languages. 11 different ones to be exact. Also new, the second post you see will be “From the archive.” A random post from my archive will be there for you to see things I have talked about in the past.

Also new is the ability to submit articles to Digg, or Netscape. You can also save them to your del.icio.us list, or e-mail an article to someone right from my blog. I have taken my visitor map out of the sidebar and made it’s own page, returning to the more familiar Frappr Map. You will also find a page for vod:pod where you can view my collection of videos.

So have a look around and let me know what you think! Thanks and enjoy! It’s been a fun road from starting out on iWeb, to where I am now. I hope you like what you find here.

P.S. just in case you were wondering about the title of this post… I am referring to this incarnation as DS9 as I had started referring to my old iWeb blog as TOS, and the WP.com blog as TNG. So Star Trek fans should get the DS9 reference. πŸ˜‰

3 comments on “Welcome to qPlog DS9

Leave a Reply

