True Colors – Red Rocks – June 10, 2007

truecolors.jpg

redrocks.jpgYesterday was the concert event I had been waiting for since January. Cyndi Lauper’s True Colors tour. For the Denver stop, they had The Cliks, The Dresden Dolls, Deborah Harry, Erasure and of course Cyndi with Margaret Cho hosting. I had not been to a Red Rocks concert since I saw Sting on the Soul Cages Tour in like 1991. It is such an amazing experience there! All the acts mentioned how humbled and in awe they were to be performing on the legendary stage that is truly the most beautiful place to experience a concert event in the world!

The show started immediately at 6pm on the dot, (the only concert I have been to that was that punctual!). And as is tradition with Red Rocks, 6pm also meant the start of rain… Although, thankfully, it was a sprinkle that lasted about 10 minutes, unlike the drenching rain that fell during Sting! But, it just isn’t a concert at Red Rocks if a little rain doesn’t fall!

margaretcho.jpgMargaret Cho was fantastic as the host. Her crass humor just added to the whole evening. She started off the night by saying that we were all here in celebration of Falwell’s death (to resounding cheers!). Her crassness definitely weeded a few people out. I know there was a couple in front of us that got offended by her and, I heard the wife say, that’s enough, and grabbed her husband and left… Oh well, they obviously didn’t know who Margaret Cho was in advance or they would have known to expect that. The one thing she kept stressing is that you straight guys out there need to clean down there! She said she would suck it if it’s clean! 😉

dresdendolls.jpgI was not all that excited about the first two acts as they weren’t really my kind of music (more suited for Dan, even if he doesn’t like the Dresden Dolls). I will say that the Cliks did a great cover of Justin Timberlake’s Cry Me a River. The Dresden Dolls give a great performance, and are quite funny, even if I didn’t care for their music that much.

deborahharry.jpgUnfortunately I was let down by Deborah Harry. She didn’t sing any of her Blondie day’s songs, it was all her solo material, and I was sadly bored. I had high hopes after seeing Blondie live in England back in 2002. I just didn’t find her solo material all that inspiring. It was still great to see her getting out there and supporting the cause! Although someone should of told her that the silver sequined mini tube skirt made her butt look like a mirrored ball, but hey, maybe that’s what she was going for.

vince.jpgandy.jpgThen Erasure came out. The entire audience was on their feet for the performance! It was great seeing that large an audience give them such a great reception! They started off with Sunday Girl, then played a few classics, and some more new tracks. The set felt very short, and seemed over in no time.. but still an amazing performance from the Duo! Vince was hilarious in his camo jumpsuit and white wig. His wig reminded me of Carol Channing, and his overall look was very Pet Shop Boy-esque. That was a bit strange to me, but fun none-the-less! They definitely still have a huge following here in the states even if most people won’t admit it. 😉

cyndi.jpgFinally Cyndi… What can I say… I have never been to a performance of hers, but I have a whole new respect for her… She is such an honest caring person! She gave a very heartfelt speech at the beginning of her set about the need for society to learn how to co-exist. Her experiences with Matthew Shepherd’s mother made her realize that we can’t get past the hate if we ourselves turn to hate over those that start the hate. I could tell that, myself included, much of the audience was in tears over her speech. She emphasized how one person can make a difference, and asked that everyone make sure to write their senators about the pending vote on the Matthew Shepard Hate Crime bill.

Her performance was amazing… Such emotion in her singing, and interaction with the audience. She went down into the audience many times to shake hands and be close to her peeps! She has got to be one of the most real people in the entertainment business, what you see is what you get with her! After the show, she came down to be with the people left, and would have stayed longer, but the Red Rocks staff wanted the people to leave so they made her go back stage, but you could tell that was not her desire.

For the end of the show, all the performers came back out on stage and did a great performance of “Take a Chance on Me” from ABBA, and then finished of the show with her song that inspired it all “True Colors.” They brought out a children’s choir with kids from CO Springs to perform with her. How great it was to see Andy and Cyndi performing together! For all those who get to go to the future performances on the rest of the tour, you are in for one amazing show!

I will get the rest of my pictures from the concert uploaded as soon as possible!

I was able to get two songs recorded with my digital camera… I apologize the quality is poor, but it wasn’t meant for recording video!

Erasure: Sunday Girl
[qt:/wp-content/video/SundayGirl.MP4 /wp-content/video/ErasureCover.jpg 320 256]

Cyndi Lauper: I Drove All Night

[qt:/wp-content/video/DroveAllnight.MP4 /wp-content/video/CyndiCover.jpg 320 256]

7 comments on “True Colors – Red Rocks – June 10, 2007

  1. No words… should have sent a poet.

    Cyndi is one of the best live performers out there. I really need to make sure I see her again when she comes back.

  2. Howard: I will join you if she comes back to town!!!

    Robin: I am so glad you were able to join me! I am glad you enjoyed your first Erasure concert!

    khlari: It is too bad that the tour isn’t making it to the UK! It’s a great show for a great cause!

  3. What a great review! I’m sorry I didn’t see the show. I love me some Erasure and Cyndi Lauper, too. What was I thinking?? Apparently, I wasn’t!

    Now, I’m singing “I Drove All Night” … don’t mind me. 🙂

  4. I was lucky to be there that night, I took my straight brother and my Mom and we had a blast! A night to remember!

Leave a Reply

